TBL Consultant – Kevin Krane

kraneN. Kevin Krane, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Professor Medicine and Vice Dean
Academic Affairs
Tulane University School of Medicine

Email: kkrane@tulane.edu

N. Kevin Krane, M.D., is Professor Medicine and Vice Dean for Academic Affairs at Tulane University School of Medicine. He received his undergraduate degree from Michigan State University with high honor and his medical degree from Tulane University School of Medicine. Following an internship in internal medicine at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center, he completed his residency training and chief residency in internal medicine and a fellowship in nephrology and hypertension at Henry Ford Hospital before he joined the faculty at Tulane. He joined the faculty at Tulane as Director of Dialysis and then became Director of Student Programs for the Department of Medicine. Currently he is Vice Dean for Academic Affairs and Chief, Clinical Nephrology. In 1997-98 he was awarded a Harvard Macy Fellowship in medical education reform, focusing on ambulatory education. Dr. Krane’s clinical interests are in the areas of renal disease in pregnancy and systemic lupus erythematosus. His major area of publication has been focused on different aspects of acute renal failure in pregnancy and its management. In his administrative positions at Tulane, he serves as the Chair of the Curriculum Committee, having overseen significant curriculum reform in both basic and clinical science. He is also Chair of the Personnel and Honors Committee, which oversees faculty appointments, promotions, reviews and tenure decisions. Dr. Krane is the immediate past-Chair of the AAMC’s Southern Group on Educational Affairs and in 2004 served as the site host for the 8th International Association of Medical Science Educators. He has presented medical educational programs at many national educational meetings and has received numerous teaching awards from students and residents throughout his career including the Tulane University Medical Center Teaching Scholar Award and the 2001 Tulane University Presidential Award for Teaching Excellence.